Back on the saddle

‘When you ain’t got nothing, you ain’t got nothing to lose’ ~ Bob Dylan

Rat Race LOW RES-7576

It’s the 13th December and I have just got back from a three hour ride, the mercury didn’t go over 2 degrees celsius for the duration. I was riding solo, always a trickier proposition to keep disciplined and motivated. With a four hour ride planned the following day, the fear of pushing on although the light was failing was ever present. It has been a hell of a week at work,  the ride was a struggle but not just because of fatigue, the cold and having Lego legs”                               

IMG_4109There was however a steely tenacity throughout the ride, in my minds eye the message was consistent. Since announcing that I was involved in this big charity challenge I have been followed by various twitter folk closely connected with or touched by cancer. One such set of individuals @eviestrust1 have set up a page in loving memory of their beautiful daughter Evie, whose life was cruelly cut short by Leukaemia the day before her 6th birthday. I followed back and the postings always bring a lump to my throat, even more so as our daughter Elsie is six. The pain I was feeling in my throat, back and legs was nothing compared with theirs. I’ve ridden enough over the years to know mine would disappear following a hot bath and good dinner. This is what is pushing us all on, not just the immense physical challenge of riding the Tour but knowing that every pedal rev and pound raised towards the million target will help to find a cure to ensure everyone has a fighting chance.

IMG_4077In need of some homework I purchased a copy of Geoffs book to give me an insight on what it was like for him ten years previously, just two chapters in and I can tell you. Not easy by any means.

On a sponsorship note the donations of support to the charity were coming in far stronger than my riding (but not to fret GT I still have a good 6 months to get proper match fit) with 40 donations and personal messages so far. In particular we have received two to date that were noteworthy, Nigel and Karl from Adande and an awesome donation from Matt Johnson from Bunzl to go alongside Alastair’s. There were also novel methods of support with Oliver Harvey who make my whites offering a pound for every RT on Twitter to a max of 250.

4 days later and some help from chefland and it was done.

IMG_4081

Borough Market have offered me a stall on the 18th to produce a Festive sausage roll with support from the Market traders, my suppliers and the excellent Apple juice from Chegworth valley -100% of the sale will go direct to the charity. If you are in or around the Market on the 18th December pop by for something tasty and help cure cancer at the same time.

If you would like to support the cause please click on my link. 100% of the donation goes direct to the CureLeukaemia charity-

https://www.justgiving.com/Hayden-Groves3

Premium sponsor

 IMG_4101

Generously Supported By

Adande_logo

~ by theboxterboy on December 15, 2014.

One Response to “Back on the saddle”

  1. Thank you so much for the mention and good luck with the cycling!
    Evie’s mum xx

Leave a Reply

 
